Skip to Main Content

Faculty

 


Faculty

Contact

Research areas


Department Chair
JonathanSinger Jonathan Singer, Ph.D.  

Associate Professor & Chair
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 426

410-455-3348
jsinger@umbc.edu
Science Education

Professors
DSC_8541 Zane L. Berge, Ph.D.
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 431

410-455-2306
berge@umbc.edu
Training Systems, Distance Education, Computer-Mediated Communication

JoAnn Crandall, Ph.D. Professor Emerita
Founding Director- LLC
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 405
crandall@umbc.edu
Teaching Young Learners English, Adult ESL

Freeman A. Hrabowski, III, Ph.D.
President
Profile
Administration Building
Room 1008

410-455-3880
hrabowsk@umbc.edu
Mathematics Education, Higher Education

Sanders2015 Mavis Sanders Ph.D.   Professor
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 411

410-455-2738
msanders@umbc.edu
School,Family and Community Engagement, Education Reform and Improvement, Qualitative Research Methods

schaffer Eugene Schaffer, Ed.D.
Professor
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 436

410-455-2465
schaffer@umbc.edu
Mentoring, School Effectiveness, Professional Development Schools, At Risk Students

Sarah J. Shin, Ph.D.   

Special Assistant to the Provost for Academic Initiatives
Professor
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 406

410-455-2485
shin@umbc.edu
Bilingualism, Heritage Language Education, TESOL Teacher Preparation, Second Language Writing, Language Policy

Nancy Rankie Shelton, Ph.D.
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 432

410-455-1350
nshelton@umbc.edu
Elementary Education, Literacy

Associate Professors
Kindel Nash 
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 413

410-455-2307
nashkt@umbc.edu
Early Childhood

Patricia A. Young, Ph.D.  
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 429

410-455-3902
pyoung@umbc.edu
Elementary Education

Associate Clinical Professors
Susan M. Blunck, Ph.D.

Graduate Student Director
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 433

410-455-2869
blunck@umbc.edu
Science Education, Curriculum, Systemic Reform, Professional Development

Je-9yWdesXHTaEx7rb1y2vqomKfGAcdoVrenwCx0kjA Gregory R. Williams, Ed.D.
Director
Profile
1442 South Rolling Road, Professional Studies Building,
Room U550443-543-5447
gregw@umbc.edu
ISD-Training Systems Graduate Program

Assistant Professors
Christopher Rakes Christopher Rakes, Ph.D.  
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 415

410-455-3483
rakes@umbc.edu
Mathematics Education, Teacher Knowledge, Education Technology

Michele_Stites Michele Stites, Ed.D.    
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 414
mstites@umbc.edu
Early Childhood Mathematics, Special Education

Jiyoon Lee Jiyoon Lee, Ph.D.    
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 412

410-455-1740
jiyoon@umbc.edu
ESOL

headshot Keisha McIntosh Allen, Ed.D.
Profile
 Sherman Hall A,
Room 418
410-455-8162kallen@umbc.edu
Culturally Responsive Education, Critical Multicultural Teacher Education, Urban Education, Qualitative Research Methods

CherylNorth2015 (1) Cheryl North, Ph.D.

Secondary Program Director
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 417

410-455-6522
cnorth@umbc.edu
Secondary, Literacy Education

Linda Oliva, Ed.D.

Associate Chair
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 416

410-455-2382
oliva@umbc.edu
Educational Psychology, Instructional Technology, Teacher Research

Visiting Faculty
Doaa Rashed, MA  
ESOL Program Director
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 407

410-455-2379
doaa1@umbc.edu
Language teacher development, identity, and professionalism

Clinical Instructors
BarbaraBourne8589 Barbara Bourne, MA  

Elementary Program Director / Arts Coordinator
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 434

410-455-2308
barbara.bourne@umbc.edu
Art Education, Arts Integration, Elementary Education

Jerri Frick, MEd, MS    

Master of Arts in Education Program Director
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 209A

410-455-1356
frick@umbc.edu
Mathematics Education, Applied Mathematics

Tracy Irish, Ph.D.   
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 209B

410-455-3050
tirish1@umbc.edu
Science Education, STEM Education, Professional Learning Communities

DSC_8565 Mary Tabaa, MA    
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 408

410-455-1392
tabaa@umbc.edu
TESOL

Postdoctoral Research Associate
headshot Tory H. Williams, PhD
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 437
410-455-6514twilliams@umbc.edu
Research Associate, INSPIRES Project.

Faculty Research Assistant
Yeji Yoon, MA Sherman Hall A,
Room 427
410-455-1466yyoon1@umbc.edu
Clinical Practice and Field Experience

Heidi J. Faust, M.Ed. TESOL
Director of TESOL Professional Training Programs
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 104A
410-455-3369fausth1@umbc.edu
TESOL

Affiliate Professors
Ana Maria Schwartz aschwart@umbc.edu Associate Professor and Chair, MLL

Phillip S. Sokolove, Ph.D, Biology sokolove@umbc.edu Science Education, Neurobiology, Biological Rhythms, Invertebrate Physiology

Part-time Instructors

Berge, Nancy nancyberge@verizon.net Instructor

Fitzhugh, William lfitzh3265@aol.com wfitzhugh@bcps.org Instructor

Feig, Beverly bevfeig@gmail.com Instructor

Feldman, Kimberly kfeldman@umbc.edu Instructor and Graduate Assistant

Hess-Vait, Carol hessvait@umbc.edu Instructor

Hook, Laura laurahook@hcpss.org ldeitz1@umbc.edu Instructor

Jones, Tracy Wtjones2004@comcast.ned Instructor

Lyons, Sherry slyons1@umbc.edu Instructor

Rosen, Sara sarosen@aol.com Supervisor

Rosenfeld, Cheryl Cherkyl1@gmail.com Supervisor

Sherman, Eryn EELessard@bcps.k12.md.us Instructor

Smith, Jacques Jacques@umbc.edu Instructor

Walter, Heather hwalter@umbc.edu Instructor

Wilson-Craig, Esther ewcraig@umbc.edu Instructor

Click on faculty member’s name to view her/his brief biography and contact information.  Click email link to send an email message.