Faculty

 

Department Chair


JonathanSinger

Jonathan Singer, Ph.D.

Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 426
(410) 455-3348
jsinger@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Science Education

 

 

Professors


DSC_8541

Zane L. Berge, Ph.D.

Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 431
(410) 455-2306
berge@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Training Systems
  • Distance Education
  • Computer-Mediated Communication

Freeman A. Hrabowski, III, Ph.D.

UMBC President


Admin. Building, Room 1008
(410) 455-3880
hrabowsk@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Mathematics Education
  • Higher Education

Francis M. Hult, Ph.D.

Professor
TESOL Program Director


Sherman Hall A, Room 406
fmhult@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Educational Linguistics
  • Language Policy and Planning
  • Linguistic Landscapes
  • Multilingual Education
  • Sustainability Transdisciplinarity

Sanders2015

Mavis Sanders Ph.D.

Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room TBA
(410) 455-2738
msanders@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • School, Family and Community Engagement
  • Education Reform and Improvement
  • Qualitative Research Methods

schaffer

Eugene Schaffer, Ed.D.

Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 436
(410) 455-2465
schaffer@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Mentoring, School Effectiveness
  • Professional Development Schools
  • At Risk Students

Sarah J. Shin, Ph.D.

Associate Provost for Academic Affairs


Admin. Building, Room 1006

shin@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Bilingualism
  • Heritage Language Education
  • TESOL Teacher Preparation
  • Second Language Writing
  • Language Policy

Photo of Dr. Patricia Young

Patricia A. Young, Ph.D.

Professor
Elementary Program Director


Sherman Hall A, Room 429
(410) 455-3902
pyoung@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Elementary Education

 

 

Associate Professors


Jennifer Mata-McMahon, Ed.D.

Associate Professor
Director of the Sherman Center for Early Learning in Urban Communities


Fine Arts, Room TBA
(410) 455–2259
jmatamcm@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Early Childhood Education
  • Bilingual Education
  • Teacher Preparation
  • Secular Spirituality
  • Children’s Spirituality
  • Qualitative Research Methods

Kindel Nash, Ph.D.

Associate Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 413
(410) 455-2307
nashkt@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Early Childhood Education

Christopher Rakes, Ph.D.

Associate Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 415
(410) 455-3483
rakes@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Mathematics Education
  • Teacher Knowledge
  • Education Technology

Shannon Sauro, Ph.D.

Associate Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 409
ssauro@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Fanfiction and Fan Practices
  • Language Learning in the Digital Wilds
  • Task-Based Language Teaching
  • Telecollaboration/Virtual Exchange

Michele_Stites

Michele Stites, Ed.D.

Associate Professor
ECE Program Director


Sherman Hall A, Room 414
mstites@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Early Childhood Mathematics
  • Special Education

 

 

Assistant Professors


Jiyoon Lee

Jiyoon Lee, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 410
(410) 455-1740
jiyoon@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Alternative assessment
  • Language assessment literacy
  • Teacher education

headshot

Keisha McIntosh Allen, Ed.D.

Assistant Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 418
(410) 455-8162
kallen@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Culturally Responsive Education
  • Critical Multicultural Teacher Education
  • Urban Education
  • Qualitative Research Methods

 

 

Clinical Associate Professor


Susan M. Blunck, Ph.D.

Clinical Associate Professor
Graduate Student Director


Sherman Hall A, Room 433
(410) 455-2869
blunck@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Science Education
  • Curriculum
  • Systemic Reform
  • Professional Development

 

 

Clinical Assistant Professor


CherylNorth2015 (1)

Cheryl North, Ph.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor
Secondary Program Director


Sherman Hall A, Room 417
(410) 455-6522
cnorth@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Secondary Education
  • Literacy Education

Linda Oliva, Ed.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor
Associate Chair


Sherman Hall A, Room 416
410-455-2382
oliva@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Educational Psychology
  • Instructional Technology
  • Teacher Research

Tracy Irish, Ph.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 209B
410-455-3050
tirish1@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Science Education
  • STEM Education
  • Professional Learning Communities

 

 

Clinical Instructors


Jerri Frick, MEd, MS

Clinical Instructor
Master of Arts in Education Program Director


Sherman Hall A, Room 209A
(410) 455-1356
frick@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Mathematics Education
  • Applied Mathematics

Mary Tabaa, MA

Clinical Instructor


Sherman Hall A, Room 408
(410) 455-1392
tabaa@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • TESOL

No Image

Deborah Kabura Kariuki M Ed, BS CS

Clinical Instructor


Sherman Hall A, Room 209C
(410) 455-1578
dkariuki@umbc.edu


Profile

Research Area(s)

  • Computer Science Ed

 

 

Emeritus Faculty

Last updated 2021 July 23