Faculty

 

Department Chair


Pic of Young_edited.jpg

Patricia A. Young, Ph.D.

Professor
Department Chair -Education


Sherman Hall A, Room 429
(410) 455-3902
pyoung@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Culture & Instructional Design & Technology
  • The History of Instructional Design & Technologies Made by and for African Americans
  • Culture-specific Information & Communication Technologies

 

 

Professors


Sarah J. Shin, Ph.D.

Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room

(410)

shin@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Bilingualism
  • Heritage Language Education
  • TESOL Teacher Preparation
  • Second Language Writing
  • Language Policy


Francis M. Hult, Ph.D.

Professor
TESOL Program Director


Sherman Hall A, Room 406
fmhult@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Educational Linguistics
  • Language Policy and Planning
  • Linguistic Landscapes
  • Multilingual Education
  • Sustainability Transdisciplinarity

schaffer

Eugene Schaffer, Ed.D.

Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 436
(410) 455-2465
schaffer@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Mentoring, School Effectiveness
  • Professional Development Schools
  • At Risk Students

DSC_8541

Zane L. Berge, Ph.D.

Professor

(410) 455-2306
berge@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Training Systems
  • Distance Education
  • Computer-Mediated Communication

JonathanSinger

Jonathan Singer, Ph.D.

Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 426
(410) 455-3348
jsinger@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Science Education

 

 

Associate Professors


Jiyoon Lee

Jiyoon Lee, Ph.D.

Associate Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 410
(410) 455-1740
jiyoon@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Alternative assessment
  • Language assessment literacy
  • Teacher education

Jennifer Mata-McMahon, Ed.D.

Associate Professor
Director of the Sherman Center for Early Learning in Urban Communities


Fine Arts, Room TBA
(410) 455–2259
jmatamcm@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Early Childhood Education
  • Bilingual Education
  • Teacher Preparation
  • Secular Spirituality
  • Children’s Spirituality
  • Qualitative Research Methods


Christopher Rakes, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Graduate Student Director


Sherman Hall A, Room 415
(410) 455-3483
rakes@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Mathematics Education
  • Teacher Knowledge
  • Education Technology

Shannon Sauro, Ph.D.

Associate Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 409
ssauro@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Fanfiction and Fan Practices
  • Language Learning in the Digital Wilds
  • Task-Based Language Teaching
  • Telecollaboration/Virtual Exchange

Michele_Stites

Michele Stites, Ed.D.

Associate Professor
ECE Program Director                               Elementary Program Director


Sherman Hall A, Room 414
mstites@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Early Childhood Mathematics
  • Special Education

 

 

Assistant Professors


headshot

Keisha McIntosh Allen, Ed.D.

Assistant Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 418
(410) 455-8162
kallen@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Culturally Responsive Education
  • Critical Multicultural Teacher Education
  • Urban Education
  • Qualitative Research Methods

Amy Tondreau, Ed.D

Assistant Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 432                                                      (410) 455 – 1350
atondrea@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Teachers’ and Students’ Literacy Identities,
  • Critical Literacy
  • Writing Pedagogy
  • Professional Learning Communities
  • Critical Teacher Education
  • Cross-pollination of Universal Design for Learning and Culturally Sustaining Pedagogy in Elementary Literacy Teaching and Learning

 

 

Clinical Associate Professor


Susan M. Blunck, Ph.D.

Clinical Associate Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 433
(410) 455-2869
blunck@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Science Education
  • Curriculum
  • Systemic Reform
  • Professional Development

CherylNorth2015 (1)

Cheryl North, Ph.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor
Secondary Program Director


Sherman Hall A, Room 417
(410) 455-6522
cnorth@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Secondary Education
  • Literacy Education

Linda Oliva, Ed.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 416
410-455-2382
oliva@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Educational Psychology
  • Instructional Technology
  • Teacher Research


Tracy Irish, Ph.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor


Sherman Hall A, Room 209B
410-455-3050
tirish1@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Science Education
  • STEM Education
  • Professional Learning Communities

 

 

Clinical Instructors


Jerri Frick, MEd, MS

Clinical Instructor
Master of Arts in Education Program Director


Sherman Hall A, Room 209A
(410) 455-1356
frick@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Mathematics Education
  • Applied Mathematics

Mary Tabaa, MA

Clinical Instructor


Sherman Hall A, Room 408
(410) 455-1392
tabaa@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • TESOL

Deborah Kabura Kariuki,  MPS Cybersecurity, MEd, MS CS, BS CS

Clinical Instructor


Sherman Hall A, Room 209C
(410) 455-1578
dkariuki@umbc.edu


Click here to view profile

Research Area(s)

  • Computer Science Education
  • Computational Thinking Across the Curriculum
  • Professional Development in CS Education
  • Culturally Responsive Instructions in Computer Science
  • Instructional Technology

 

 

Emeritus Faculty

 

 

 

Last updated 2022 August 1