Skip to Main Content

Faculty

 

 

Faculty

Contact

Research Areas


Department Chair

JonathanSinger Jonathan Singer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor & Chair
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 426

410-455-3348
jsinger@umbc.edu
Science Education

Professors

DSC_8541 Zane L. Berge, Ph.D.
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 431

410-455-2306
berge@umbc.edu
Training Systems, Distance Education, Computer-Mediated Communication

Freeman A. Hrabowski, III, Ph.D.
President
Profile
Administration Bldg,
Room 1008

410-455-3880
hrabowsk@umbc.edu
Mathematics Education, Higher Education

Francis M. Hult, Ph.D.

Professor
TESOL Program Director
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 406

fmhult@umbc.edu
Educational Linguistics, Language Policy and Planning, Linguistic Landscapes, Multilingual Education, Sustainability, and Transdisciplinarity

Sanders2015 Mavis Sanders Ph.D.
Professor
Profile
Fine Arts,
Room 017

410-455-2738
msanders@umbc.edu
School, Family and Community Engagement, Education Reform and Improvement, Qualitative Research Methods

schaffer Eugene Schaffer, Ed.D.
Professor
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 436

410-455-2465
schaffer@umbc.edu
Mentoring, School Effectiveness, Professional Development Schools, At Risk Students

Sarah J. Shin, Ph.D. Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
Profile
Administration Bldg, Room 1006

shin@umbc.edu

Bilingualism, Heritage Language Education, TESOL Teacher Preparation, Second Language Writing, Language Policy

Nancy Rankie Shelton, Ph.D.

Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 432 
nshelton@umbc.edu
Elementary Education, Literacy

Associate Professors

Jennifer Mata-McMahon, Ed.D.
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 412

410-455–2259
jmatamcm@umbc.edu
Early Childhood Education, Bilingual Education, Teacher Preparation, Secular Spirituality, Children’s Spirituality, Qualitative Research Methods

Kindel Nash, Ph.D.

ECE Program Director
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 413

410-455-2307
nashkt@umbc.edu
Early Childhood Education

Christopher Rakes Christopher Rakes, Ph.D.
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 415

410-455-3483
rakes@umbc.edu
Mathematics Education, Teacher Knowledge, Education Technology

Photo of Dr. Patricia Young Patricia A. Young, Ph.D.

Elementary Program Director
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 429

410-455-3902
pyoung@umbc.edu
Elementary Education

Associate Clinical Professors

Susan M. Blunck, Ph.D.

Graduate Student Director
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 433

410-455-2869
blunck@umbc.edu
Science Education, Curriculum, Systemic Reform, Professional Development

Assistant Professors

Michele_Stites Michele Stites, Ed.D.
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 414
mstites@umbc.edu
Early Childhood Mathematics, Special Education

Jiyoon Lee Jiyoon Lee, Ph.D.
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 410

410-455-1740
jiyoon@umbc.edu
Alternative assessment
Language assessment literacy
Teacher education

headshot Keisha McIntosh Allen, Ed.D.
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 418                  
410-455-8162 kallen@umbc.edu
Culturally Responsive Education, Critical Multicultural Teacher Education, Urban Education, Qualitative Research Methods

Shannon Sauro, Ph.D.
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 409
ssauro@umbc.edu
Fanfiction and Fan Practices, Language Learning in the Digital Wilds, Task-Based Language Teaching, Telecollaboration/Virtual Exchange

Clinical Assistant Professors

CherylNorth2015 (1) Cheryl North, Ph.D.

Secondary Program Director
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 417                  
410-455-6522cnorth@umbc.edu
Secondary Education, Literacy Education

Linda Oliva, Ed.D.

Associate Chair
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 416

410-455-2382
oliva@umbc.edu
Educational Psychology, Instructional Technology, Teacher Research

Tracy Irish, Ph.D.
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 209B

410-455-3050
tirish1@umbc.edu
Science Education, STEM Education, Professional Learning Communities

Clinical Instructors

Jerri Frick, MEd, MS

Master of Arts in Education Program Director
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 209A

410-455-1356
frick@umbc.edu
Mathematics Education, Applied Mathematics

DSC_8565 Mary Tabaa, MA
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 408

410-455-1392
tabaa@umbc.edu
TESOL

Deborah Kabura Kariuki M Ed, BS CS
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 209C

410-455-1578
dkariuki@umbc.edu
Computer Science Ed

Click on ‘Profile’ to view a faculty member’s brief biography and contact information.

updated 9/10/2020 nrm