Skip to Main Content

Faculty

 


Faculty

Contact

Research areas


Department Chair
JonathanSinger Jonathan Singer, Ph.D.  

Associate Professor & Chair
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 426

410-455-3348
jsinger@umbc.edu
Science Education

Professors
DSC_8541 Zane L. Berge, Ph.D.
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 431

410-455-2306
berge@umbc.edu
Training Systems, Distance Education, Computer-Mediated Communication

JoAnn Crandall, Ph.D. Professor Emerita
Founding Director- LLC
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 405
crandall@umbc.edu
Teaching Young Learners English, Adult ESL

Freeman A. Hrabowski, III, Ph.D.
President
Profile
Administration Building
Room 1008

410-455-3880
hrabowsk@umbc.edu
Mathematics Education, Higher Education

Sanders2015 Mavis Sanders Ph.D. Professor
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 411

410-455-2738
msanders@umbc.edu
School,Family and Community Engagement, Education Reform and Improvement, Qualitative Research Methods

schaffer Eugene Schaffer, Ed.D.
Professor
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 436

410-455-2465
schaffer@umbc.edu
Mentoring, School Effectiveness, Professional Development Schools, At Risk Students

Sarah J. Shin, Ph.D.  

Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
Professor
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 406

410-455-2485
shin@umbc.edu
Bilingualism, Heritage Language Education, TESOL Teacher Preparation, Second Language Writing, Language Policy

Nancy Rankie Shelton, Ph.D.

Elementary Co-Director
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 432

410-455-1350
nshelton@umbc.edu
Elementary Education, Literacy

Associate Professors
Jennifer Mata-McMahon, Ed.D.
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 412

410-455–2259
jmatamcm@umbc.edu
Early Childhood Education, Bilingual Education, Teacher Preparation, Secular Spirituality, Children’s Spirituality, Qualitative Research Methods

Kindel Nash, Ph.D. 
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 413

410-455-2307
nashkt@umbc.edu
Early Childhood

Christopher Rakes Christopher Rakes, Ph.D.  
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 415

410-455-3483
rakes@umbc.edu
Mathematics Education, Teacher Knowledge, Education Technology

Patricia A. Young, Ph.D.  

Elementary Co-Director
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 429

410-455-3902
pyoung@umbc.edu
Elementary Education

Associate Clinical Professors
Susan M. Blunck, Ph.D.

Graduate Student Director
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 433

410-455-2869
blunck@umbc.edu
Science Education, Curriculum, Systemic Reform, Professional Development

Je-9yWdesXHTaEx7rb1y2vqomKfGAcdoVrenwCx0kjA Gregory R. Williams, Ed.D.
Director
Profile
1442 South Rolling Road, Professional Studies Building,
Room U550443-543-5447
gregw@umbc.edu
ISD-Training Systems Graduate Program

Assistant Professors
Michele_Stites Michele Stites, Ed.D.    
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 414
mstites@umbc.edu
Early Childhood Mathematics, Special Education

Jiyoon Lee Jiyoon Lee, Ph.D.    
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 410

410-455-1740
jiyoon@umbc.edu
ESOL

headshot Keisha McIntosh Allen, Ed.D.
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 418
410-455-8162kallen@umbc.edu
Culturally Responsive Education, Critical Multicultural Teacher Education, Urban Education, Qualitative Research Methods

Clinical Assistant Professors
CherylNorth2015 (1) Cheryl North, Ph.D.

Secondary Program Director
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 417
410-455-6522
cnorth@umbc.edu
Secondary, Literacy Education

Linda Oliva, Ed.D.

Associate Chair
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 416

410-455-2382
oliva@umbc.edu
Educational Psychology, Instructional Technology, Teacher Research

Tracy Irish, Ph.D.
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 209B

410-455-3050
tirish1@umbc.edu
Science Education, STEM Education, Professional Learning Communities
Visiting Assistant Professors
Doaa Rashed, Ph.D.  
ESOL Program Director
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 407

410-455-2379
doaa1@umbc.edu
Language teacher development, identity, and professionalism

Clinical Instructors
BarbaraBourne8589 Barbara Bourne, MA  

Arts Coordinator
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 434

410-455-2308
barbara.bourne@umbc.edu
Art Education, Arts Integration, Elementary Education

Jerri Frick, MEd, MS    

Master of Arts in Education Program Director
Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 209A

410-455-1356
frick@umbc.edu
Mathematics Education, Applied Mathematics

DSC_8565 Mary Tabaa, MA    
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 408

410-455-1392
tabaa@umbc.edu
TESOL

Postdoctoral Research Associate
headshot Tory H. Williams, PhD
Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 437
410-455-6514twilliams@umbc.edu
Research Associate, INSPIRES Project.

Affiliate Professors
Ana Maria Schwartz aschwart@umbc.edu Associate Professor and Chair, MLL

Phillip S. Sokolove, Ph.D, Biology sokolove@umbc.edu Science Education, Neurobiology, Biological Rhythms, Invertebrate Physiology


Click on faculty member’s name to view her/his brief biography and contact information.  Click email link to send an email message.